Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Brother and sisters, is it easier to blame white people for our problems instead of admitting to ourselves....?

that we are the cause of our own societal ills? I mean we have the highest crime rates compared to any other social group or cl. We have the highest high school drop out rates compared to all other races. We have the highest rates of single-parent households. We have the lowest marriage rates compared to any other demographic in the world. We have the highest rates of teen pregnancy. We have the 9 out of 10 black children born out of wedlock. I know we have have come a long way but I find that my friends and family in general tend to blame the man (i.e. white people) for holding us back. Whenever i bring up any negative (but true) statistics I am met with stiff resistance and ignorance. It's almost like we (myself included) are blind to what is happening. Do any of my black brothas and sistahs feel the same way? What can we as a minority do? Do we need to take responsibiliy and be held accountable? I think so. We also need to work on our public manners while in movie theatres. But one step at a time. Only clean and positive comments preferably. Thank you.

0 comments:

Post a Comment